The Jones Cup Invitational

RSM’s stewardship commitment involves building tomorrow’s leaders—and, in partnership with the Davis Love Foundation, this includes featuring an amateur in the RSM Classic field each year.

First contested in 2001, The Jones Cup is a 54-hole individual stroke-play event hosted by Sea Island and played at Ocean Forest Golf Club. The Jones Cup Invitational brings together many of the finest amateurs from the United States and abroad for this three-day competition which is considered one of the top 30 men’s amateur tournaments in the world. The winner of this January tournament is invited to play with PGA TOUR professionals at The RSM Classic in November as one of the world’s top amateurs.

The Jones Cup is an exciting opportunity for amateurs to accelerate their pursuit of professional golf, and we are pleased to provide The RSM Classic as a stepping-stone. In 2019, Davis Thompson, a junior at the University of Georgia and son of RSM Classic Tournament Director Todd Thompson, claimed the Jones Cup Invitational title and an invitation to the 2020 RSM Classic. He finished at the top after shooting an impressive seven-under on the final day, nine strokes ahead of runner-up David Perkins, who finished at four-under. Thompson joins a group of Jones Cup champions that include previous winners and PGA TOUR professionals DJ Trahan, Luke List, Kyle Stanley, and Patrick Reed.

Past Winners
2015: Austin Connelly
2016: Beau Hossler
2017: Braden Thornberry
2018: Garrett Barber
2019: Akshay Bhatia*
2020: Davis Thompson

*Akshay Bhatia turned professional prior to the 2019 RSM Classic, therefore runner-up Davis Thompson earned the exemption.