United States

IRS expands Hurricane Irma tax relief to all counties in Georgia


On Sept. 19, the IRS published IR-2017-156, which expanded tax relief for Hurricane Irma to all counties in Georgia. 

The relief provided for the State of Georgia parallels the relief provided to all of Florida, parts of Puerto Rico and parts of the Virgin Islands for victims of Hurricane Irma and certain parts of Texas for victims of Hurricane Harvey.

The relief granted to Georgia postpones various tax filing and payment deadlines that occurred starting Sept. 7, 2017. Affected individuals and businesses will have until Jan. 31, 2018 to file returns and pay taxes that were originally due during this period.

Like other tax relief for other regions impacted by Hurricane Irma, the tax relief extends to taxpayers not located within the declared disaster area, but whose records necessary to meet a tax filing deadline are located within any county in Georgia.

Learn more about the tax relief details provided to Georgia and other victims of Hurricane Irma.


Subscribe to Tax Alerts

How can we help you with your tax planning?